Saturday, 26 February 2011

Winter 2011 MixTape


  1. Altrice - The Man (excerpt)
  2. Naminé - Neon
  3. Elite Gymnastics - Is This On Me
  4. FUR - Clears Throat (Solar Bears Remix)
  5. Bicep - Darwin
  6. RxGibbs - Spark
  7. Eleven Tigers - My Name Is Light
  8. Telefon Tel Aviv - Lengthening Shadows
  9. Seven Saturdays - The Shallow End (White Sea Remix)
  10. Korallreven - Honey Mine (Memoryhouse Remix)
  11. Steve Mason - Boys Outside (Keep Shelly in Athens Remix)
  12. Caribou - Sun (Touchy Mob Remix)
  13. Kúra - Gógó (Lulu Rouge Remix)
  14. StewRat - Bee Stings
  15. Itoa - Deadlocked
  16. Access To Arasaka - Kill_recorder=$c1
  17. Stendek - Seiza

Here is some info or short coments about artists whose tracks are included in the icy cold Winter mix:

  1. Altrice -  a one of Caribou's fans who won 'Sun' remix contest last year. He remixed the whole album 'Swim' recently and called his project 'Stem'. Stem is temporarily available for free download on artist's SoundCloud.
  2. Naminé - " the solo project of Darcy Baylis, based out of Melbourne, Australia. Naminé utilizes the influence of R&B, 80's music and video games to create slowed down, chilled out electronic music, all at home using a laptop and a keyboard."*
  3. Elite Gymnastics - "call the chilly terrain of one of Minnesota's Twin Cities home, especially when listening to 'Is This on Me?'"*
  4. FUR / Solar Bears - "The calm winter days seem like a perfect match for the cool disco ambients of Dublin duo Solar Bears. She Was Colored In is an album I’ve always adored for those magical times watching the sun rise, but they’ve also put together two stunning remixes. The first is a a completely blessed out and mellow track redoing FUR‘s 'Clears Throat'..."*
  5. Bicep - From Bio: "At the dawning of time, two mutants were trained by sensei Master Giorgio Moroder, to become synth warriors. From their home in the sewers of Manhattan, they battle petty criminals, evil megalomaniacs and alien invaders, all while remaining isolated from society at large"*
  6. RxGibbs - "'Sparks' places queasy, resonating pads on a crisp house groove, punctuated by breathless vocal samples that shift the focus from the celestial to a more grounded, understated air of sexuality."*
  7. Eleven Tigers - "As for today, Eleven Tigers’ fantasy hunt involves realising innovative ideas for his new album and absorbing every new experience: 'I do not really care anymore if my music is associated with dubstep or not. I just continue to look for inspirations and write the music I love,' he says."*
  8. Telefon Tel Aviv - "'Lengthening Shadows' is one such track made by Telefon Tel Aviv for the Apparat mix, and it has some serious weight to it. As Ring puts it, '[Telefon Tel Aviv] make such beautiful music. Sadly, Charlie Cooper died at the beginning of last year. This is the first track that Joshua Eustis (pictured above) has made since then. I think he was wondering whether he would carry on the Telefon Tel Aviv name. I asked him if there was anything he could give me for the album. He made me this track and said he’d like it to be as Telefon Tel Aviv. It's very poignant.' And it's true. "*
  9. Seven Saturdays / White Sea - "White Sea (a.k.a. Morgan Kibby of M83) has turned in an epic, blissful remix of LA's Seven Saturdays. While the original is sparse and ethereal, White Sea's remix is a driving, pulsating mass of melodies completely drenched in processing. Kibby's vocals take center stage, layering intricate loops of oohs and ahhs before giving way to the triumphant climax. It sounds like the kind of heavenly electro-dream pop you'd expect from a member of M83, and that's a good thing."*
  10. Korallreven / Memoryhouse - "Canadian outfit Memoryhouse have veered "Honey Mine" in yet another direction, slowing the beat to accord it a more prominent role, and stretching the looped vocals until they fuse with the textures of the keys. The result ... is both pensive and contemplative, without losing the disco touches of the original"*
  11. Steve Mason / Keep Shelly in Athens - "Greece’s Keep Shelly in Athens work their magic on this official remix of downcast ballad/title track 'Boys Outside' from the Beta Band’s Steve Mason, transforming the original into one of their signature haunting and steamy Balearic-house smooth jams"*
  12. Touchy Mob - is Ludwig Plath.
  13. Kúra - is a new scandinavian (Iceland/Denmark) electronic project by Fanney Ósk Þórisdóttir (vocals & lyrics) and Brynjar Bjarnfoss (producer) / Lulu Rouge - "is DJ T.O.M. and Buda, two of the most respected DJs and producers on the Copenhagen scene."*
  14. StewRat - very little info on Facebook page
  15. Itoa - a 4-membered Polish electronic project founded in 2003, as Itoa says, "in order to expose our common creativity. Our area is electronic music composition, audiovisual engineering and badminton playing"*
  16. Access To Arasaka - "this is my desire for a dark future with neon cities and cyberware / my longing for fully interactive neural internet, gang warfare, and corporations acting as governments ..."*
  17. Stendek - "is an audiovisual project from Poland, made by Maciej Wojcieszkiewicz ...Styles like ambient, minimal and IDM are his inspirations."*